Young Australian of the Year state and territory recipients announced

This content was published on Thursday 17 November 2022. There may be more recent updates available.

The 2023 Young Australian of the Year state and territory recipients have been awarded at local ceremonies across the country between 31 October and 15 November.

The state and territory recipients are:

  • Kofi Owusu-Ansah – Award-winning performer and songwriter (Australian Capital Territory)
  • Lottie Dalziel – Founder, Banish and sustainability champion (New South Wales)
  • Jahdai Vigona – First Nations community leader (Northern Territory)
  • Talei Elu – Community organiser (Queensland)
  • Awer Mabil – Professional soccer player and co-founder, Barefoot to Boots (South Australia)
  • Meriem Daoui – Humanitarian and marathon runner (Tasmania)
  • Darcy McGauley-Bartlett – Advocate for Indigenous health care in prisons (Victoria)
  • Nagmeldin Bol – Athlete and Olympian (Western Australia)

These inspiring young Australians will now join the national judging process ahead of the 2023 Australian of the Year Awards in Canberra in January.

The Young Australian of the Year award is Australia’s peak award recognising the tremendous and important contributions that young people make to Australian society. The Award recognises the inspirational and exceptional efforts of young people.

We are proud to be the official partner of the 2023 Young Australian of the Year award.

Read more about each recipient on the Australian of the Year website.